Creative writing: the use of dialogue

Write a short scene in which you move the action forward by means of dialogue

Chloe and Simon moved slowly along the ledge. “I really don’t like this Simon, it’s getting narrower.”

“We don’t have a choice Klo, we can’t afford to go through the forest and risk being seen. Just don’t look down.”

“Why did you have to say that? Now that’s all I want to do!” She concentrated on where her feet were going. “Oh my god, we’re going to die!” she muttered under her breath.

A screeching came from above. “Actually, don’t look up either,” he said holding out his hand towards her. “It’s just another few feet, then back onto normal paths again.”

“Simon, what just caused that shadow?” she asked.

“It’s just a bird Klo, just keep looking at your feet. We’re nearly there.” Simon reached the wider ledge, and turned to Chloe.

“Simon! Watch out!”

Something flew inches away from the top of Simon’s head. “Quick, Chloe. We need to get out of here! CHLOE!” Simon reached out for her just as she lost her footing, and grabbed her wrist.

“Simon! Simon! I can’t… Simon, don’t let go, please… help me!” Chloe could see a mass of jagged rocks teasing her 500m below her dangling feet.

“Don’t worry Klo, I’ve got you. There is a ledge just by your right foot, feel it? Good. Now, just above that there is a branch which you can reach with your left foot… don’t worry, I’ve got you.”

“I can’t feel anything, where is it… I can’t Simon, I can’t…”

“It’s okay, I’ve got you. Look down and you will see the branch. Great! Now I’m going to let go…”

“No Simon, no! Don’t let go!”

“It’s okay Chloe, I’m just going to let go for a few seconds, while I lower myself to the ground. Hold onto the rock.”

Simon lay on his front and reached over trying to grab Chloe round her waist.

“You’re going to have to edge a little bit further towards me Klo. Lean a bit further… Got you!”

Simon pulled her up over the edge just as the creature swooped again, narrowly missing them.

“Quick, get up. We need to get out of here.”

They ran along the path and reached the side of the ravine where they crawled under a thicket. They sat in silence for what felt like an eternity.

“I think it’s gone,” said Simon. “I haven’t heard any sounds from out there for the past hour. We’re safe… for now.”

“What… what was that?” asked Chloe.

“I don’t know, and I don’t think I want to know. We should be safe here for a while though. Come on, why don’t you try and sleep for a bit. I’ll take first watch.”

Chloe laid her head in his lap, and almost immediately fell asleep.

“I’m sorry I got you into this,” Simon whispered. “But I will get you back to safety, if it’s the last thing I do.”

Leave a Reply

