My story so far…

Okay, so the title of this blog is a little misleading, as I’m not about to divulge any of the plot from my story. But I wanted to talk about my progress with the story, and with my time in Crete.

I got back from London a week ago and it feels very different to before. It feels more real than the first time I came out here. Perhaps it is because I don’t have any more flights booked – not even my final return journey – or maybe it’s because I’m now a third of the way through my time here, and the reality of what I need to do now is finally hitting home. Whatever the reason for the difference, I’m excited.

I am close to finishing my first draft of my book. That sounds quite impressive, but I’m under no illusions that this is the end. I think I will have a lot of work to do on it before I am happy with it.

I need to re-write a lot of the earlier chapters as I have changed or developed the the endcharacters so they are almost unrecognisable to the earlier versions of themselves. Once I am happy with the second draft, I will need to go through and edit it, make sure it all flows well and there are no contradictions or oversights in the story. But finishing the first draft is cause for celebration. I’ll be happy, especially if I get it finished before the halfway point (end of May).

When I was out with my friends on my trip back to London, I was talking about my writing and telling them about my latest chapter. It wasn’t really until I saw their reaction that I realised how exciting it was. I explained to them that I was proofing the last chapter I had written, and found myself getting enveloped in the story, and I started getting excited wondering what would happen next. I wanted to read more. But then it dawned on me that I could only read more when I had written it. So if nothing else, I seem to be really enjoying my book!

I’m feeling a lot more motivated now that I can see the end of the book…although there are still a few questions in my head about a few things that need to happen in the story. So, onwards and upwards, and let’s hope this momentum continues!

Leave a Reply

