#NaNoWriMo

This November I signed up to take part in National Novel Writing Month – an initiative accidentally created by Chris Baty in 1999. It challenges participants to write a 50,000 word novel in one month.calendar

So we’re now two weeks in and I’m struggling so much with this. I had my idea all sorted before 1 November, and even had a fairly detailed synopsis written, but now that it has come to the actual writing, I find myself struggling with the words. I keep writing pages and pages of rubbish, which inevitably ends up being deleted, so I’m way behind schedule. At this point of the month I should have written about 25,000 words, but I’ve actually written just 10,164.

I’m not giving up yet though, which is why I’ve decided to write this blog. I’m hoping it will serve two purposes:

  1. To make my intentions public and therefore apply more pressure for me to succeed.
  2. The act of writing this blog will kick-start my creativity and get me back on the ball.

If you’re also taking part, please add me as a writing buddy and help motivate me – if I see your word counts increasing and mine staying the same I might be shamed into writing more. You can add me here –http://nanowrimo.org/participants/sarah_stick

Right, I’m off to try again. Wish me luck!


 

Leave a Reply

